This is a past event.

Unveiling McLeod Plantation Historic Site 

When: Sat., July 1, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., July 8, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., July 15, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., July 22, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., July 29, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Aug. 5, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Aug. 12, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Aug. 19, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Aug. 26, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Sept. 2, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Sept. 9, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m., Sat., Sept. 16, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 23, 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. 2017
Price: $15/general, $12/Move IT! pass holders
ccprc.com/Calendar.aspx?EID=8048&month=7&year=2017&day=1&calType=0

Freedom fighters

For a closer look at history, head to McLeod Plantation this Saturday for the Architects of Freedom: Resistance at McLeod Plantation tour, which focuses on how enslaved African Americans asserted individuality before and after emancipation. “Each of these tours delve more deeply into our history to help us gain a better understanding of who we as part of American society are today,” says Shawn Halifax, CCPRC’s cultural history interpretation coordinator. “For example, many people clearly misunderstand the Black Lives Matter movement — how it is not just about the last 10 years, but about the last 400 years.” In addition, tours will have access to the usually unseen second and third floors of the McLeod family home.
— Jakob Lazzaro
click to enlarge PROVIDED
  • Provided

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings
  • Lidl
    I have already shopped in Lidl store goose creek sc. three times. I find the… -tim wernicke
  • Black Bean Co.
    I am typically not one to complain or write a bad review but I felt… -Morgan P.

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2017, Charleston City Paper   RSS