Narrow Search

  • Show Only

  • Category

  • User Ratings

  • Narrow by Date

    • All
    • Today
    • Last 7 Days
    • Last 30 Days
    • Select a Date Range
    • From:


Comment Archives: Locations: 1 Star

Re: “Chick-fil-A (Magwood)

Focus on making better chicken and keep your mouth shut!

1 of 6 people like this.
Posted by rosen4444 on August 6, 2012 at 10:51 AM

Re: “Santi's

Made a trip to the new Mt. Pleasant location after rave reviews from several sources. Was crowded on a Saturday around 6- waited for a table for several minutes. We were seated shortly after in a smaller
Table that wasn't be cleared
For us initally. Service was horrible!! Only saw our waiter 2 times total. No refills on drinks the entire time we were there- and they were empty within the first 10 minutes. No refills on chips or salsa. Staff aimlessly walking around and not attentive at all. Food was luke warm and some bites almost stone cold. Not authentic and pretty bland. Would not recommend this location to anyone.

0 of 6 people like this.
Posted by Ber on August 5, 2012 at 9:15 AM

Re: “Chick-fil-A (Magwood)

this bigot chicken store does not deserve decent human patronage ... cHIK FILTHY A has made their corporation policy and "values" clear, hate and discrimination hiding behind freedom of religion.... THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH 2 PEOPLE LOVING EACH OTHER but instead Owner Don Cathy insists only breeding pairs are going to recieve his blessing or corporation donations.... this leaves the infertile and gays declared inferiour, the very working definition of bigotry, I've never spent a penny here and no other kindly human should ZERO STARS for putrid fowl & foul mouth executive giving money to religious hate groups in the million$

2 of 26 people like this.
Posted by Larry Henry Carter Center on August 3, 2012 at 10:07 PM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!! Go to Park Pizza in Park Circle awesome pizza and awesome customer service.
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!

This is the email exchange after my complaint. The owner/manager is far from professional...

We are very sorry for for your experience. I really wish you would have notified the manager in person so we could have rectified the situation at that time.
But instead you decided to go viral with your negative comments. Very unfair dont you think? Especially on one of our busier nights of the year with a sold out concert!! Of the thousands of people who came through our door sat, you were the only complaint.
We would have gladly taken care of your bill had you verbalized your complaint instead of what you did which will get you nothing instead.

Wow what a polite response. Reading past reviews your restaurant gets a lot of negative comments about customer service and reading your email I see the employees are just following your lead. You should go back and reread my original complaint. All I asked for was a normal sized table not a free meal and it's very rude to assume that was what I was writing you to get. Your restaurant won't last much longer with your horrible attitude and horrible customer service. You should ask yourself why a customer should have to ask for a manager to get a table when a restaurant is almost empty...

Many people sit at that table fine without complaining about the size of it.
I figured you wouldn't be happy with my apology. Why did I even bother.
We've been in business longer than many businesses onDI. Sorry we aren't going anywhere

I don't care what other people do or don't complain about. It's simple the restaurant was almost empty we wanted another table. Sorry you're not able to understand good customer service. I know you're butt hurt about negative comments on Yelp and Urbanspoon, but that's what they are there for. When you have a good or bad experience that is the appropriate place to voice it and let others know what is going on at restaurants. Obviously negative comments about your restaurant are beyond your comprehension and I will continue to tell people about my horrible experience at your restaurant. Your response was not an apology it was a rude attack You need to grow up and think before you email customers in such a rude manner. Keep your bad attitude to yourself!

7 of 15 people like this.
Posted by kylee on July 27, 2012 at 7:51 AM

Re: “Christophe Artisan Chocolatier-Pâtissier

I should have posted this comment a long time ago. As I drove by Christophe Artisan Chocolatier today, and was reminded of the terrible experience I had with the people who own this business, and I needed to vent about it.
In 2011, I purchased a Groupon coupon for $40.00 assortment of Christophe's chocolates. The deal was run just before Valentine's Day, so I decided to use my coupon on chocolates for my boyfriend, who is a chocoholic. When I called in a week before the holiday, I was told that the chocolatier was swamped with Valentine's Day orders, and they wouldn't be able to fill my order at that time. I understood how busy they were, and decided to redeem my coupon at a later date.
I called them several times, and each time I was given the runaround. I was told to call another number, but no one answered the phone at that phone number. At one point someone took my phone number and promised to call me back. No one called me back, and after numerous unsuccessful attempts to redeem my coupon, I gave up. So I was out $20.00.
If business owners offer Groupon deals and take our money, they should be responsible enough to make good on the deal we bought.

7 of 12 people like this.
Posted by alteredstate on July 21, 2012 at 3:18 PM

Re: “Santi's

The new place in Mt Pleasant is awful. Crowded, noisey, slow service, warm and weak margaritas. Unfriendly staff. No diversity in staff (7-8 pissed off looking Mexicans running around. They won't make it here..... too many options. Santi needs to open another place on Ashely Phosphate where they put up with this garbage

2 of 4 people like this.
Posted by True American Patriot on June 27, 2012 at 9:14 PM

Re: “Richard's Coffee n' More

Park Circle deserves and needs a great coffee shop. Unfortunately, Richard's is not filling that need. The atmosphere is stale and not inviting at all. The self-serve coffee setup with cheap plastic cups is not found in any other reputable coffee shop.
Didn't this operation fail once before? Why not try something different this time?

9 of 17 people like this.
Posted by MrMangoSalsa on June 25, 2012 at 10:43 AM

Re: “Heart Woodfire Kitchen

Interesting. After I posted, I received 51 friend requests? Not to mention the fella who stated 'Just wanted to say hi and that I loved your reviews on the city paper of taco boy and poes! I use to work for them and I am so happy I don't anymore' so Ima Oldmann & Jaxx can suck it. Dogs allowed? Then POST IT. How they are allowed? POST IT!

4 of 40 people like this.
Posted by Zoe St Piesse on June 21, 2012 at 1:50 AM

Re: “Richard's Coffee n' More

Purchased an iced coffee here recently. When I entered I was surprised at how hap-hazard everything seemed. The decor was a mix of mismatched artwork and food items such as half opened loaves of bread, canned items, etc. I placed my order for a "specialty coffee" drink and was told by the nice lady behind the counter that I would have to wait for Richard (the owner) to return because she doesn't know how to make those types of drinks. I waited 15 minutes and was about to walk out when Richard returned. My drink was flavorless, watered down, and over-priced. With the recent influx of new restaurants, bars, and new home owners you would think that Park Circle would be able to not only support but demand a top drawer coffee house.

12 of 23 people like this.
Posted by SoundlyAwake72 on June 19, 2012 at 11:25 PM

Re: “1st Choice HVAC Services

This was the worst HVAC service I have ever recieved. I had an air conditioning unit installed by First Choice and it did not work for even 6 months before I started having issues with it. Now i have been waiting for 6 months to have my air conditioning unit fixed. It took them nearly 4 months before they attempted to fix it ( not only do i not have ac but i didnt have heat in the winter time) Finally it was deemed unfixable and needed to be replaced 2 months ago. I have since been waiting for a new unit and have received excuses after excuses as to why First Chioce could not get to me. Honestly if i could have given this company no stars I would have. It is a joke that they call themselves First Choice... try again... Last Choice.

4 of 12 people like this.
Posted by Tessa Schillaci-Gano on June 7, 2012 at 12:48 AM

Re: “O-Ku

I know it was 10pm on a Sunday. But, that's no reason for the hamachi nigiri to be almost room temperature and the wasabi to be dry. And the olives in the martini were absolutely tasteless and lacking pimentos in 2 out of 3. This place needs a good scrubbing in the back of the house. Men's restroom in serious need of attention. Also suggest covering the window in the kitchen door. Seeing food scraps all over work surfaces and general unsightliness is disturbing.

10 of 12 people like this.
Posted by Guy on June 4, 2012 at 6:18 PM

Re: “Alluette's Jazz Cafe

over priced, run down dump. poorly kept

Posted by pwjk12 on June 1, 2012 at 9:07 AM

Re: “Citadel Mall Stadium 16 with IMAX

The $2 glasses are always scratched and ridiculously glarey! Then when I ask for a new pair that arent sctatched, some lesbian teenage girl, who is pissed I'm a man is mad I pointed it out and gives me an attitude about wanting a perfect picture. For fourteen bucks i would say go to oakbrook on ladson for customer sevice and seven dollars and a caring experience. Worst cinema experience ever! Not worth it.

12 of 25 people like this.
Posted by David Schofill on May 26, 2012 at 10:24 PM

Re: “Halls Chophouse

too damn loud!

69 of 82 people like this.
Posted by Zoe St Piesse on May 24, 2012 at 5:34 PM

Re: “Raul's Taqueria & Mexican Grill

Lunchless On Cinco De Mayo!

We had high hopes for this restaurant. The reviews said Excellent Authentic Food! I should have read more reviews.We will never know as no one wanted to service us lunch! I remained determined even after walking into a dark somewhat uninviting bar atmosphere. That has been misleading before, but not this time.

We were seated by a gentleman with some pretty interesting eyebrows painted on above his made up eyes. They were impressive. He gave us our menus and took our drink order. The first indicator of a problem were the cold greasy chips that were delivered to the table. Then.....

That was the end of anyone coming to our table. My husband noticed the gentleman with the makeup taking an order from a Hispanic couple that came in after we did and had their drinks already. After 15 minutes, we got up, still nothing to drink, to find the original gentleman standing behind the bar talking with a bar patron (who was not there when we arrived and already had his drink). He stood there and looked at us as I approached him and I said, "I'm sorry but we have to leave but I am starving.". His deer in the headlights response was, "Okay". We went down the street to La Nortena, we were greeted like we were welcome, had great service, and an excellent lunch. Ole'!!

2 of 5 people like this.
Posted by Weime on May 14, 2012 at 2:50 PM

Re: “Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale

Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale was an experience I wish I had walked out on.
Our table at the King street location was not just dirty, it was filthy. There were at least 3 dogs in the restaurant. Children were running around and playing hid and seek with vacant tables. Obviously the children should be corrected by the parents, but the restaurant manager should be able to instruct its patrons to reign their children in.

Our server was negligent at best. Perhaps ADD? With the college crowd there, her thoughts were less on taking my order for my children and myself and more on adjusting her short shorts and posing for the frat boys. I think in the process she forgot to put our order in, b/c the food took a huge amount of time for a round of appetizers and a child's meal. We were seated outside and could smell garbage and urine smells. Why I sat through until the food came out, is obvious, I had a hungry family to feed and was not that familiar with the options in the immediate area. My daughter with leg braces can only walk so far at times. I am mad at my dumb luck for wandering into a dirty, dirty, restaurant that honestly didn't care if I was there or not.
Will NOT be back, will never suggest to anyone.. And it is firmly on my top 3 WORST in Charleston. Avoid.

6 of 14 people like this.
Posted by B Dalton on May 5, 2012 at 8:40 AM

Re: “Taco Boy

We waited until Hubby and I had a chance to try this without kids for a weekday lunch.
I was craving fish tacos and was SO disappointed when my meal arrived. It was akin to fish sticks in a corn tortilla. The 'sauce' was not so nice either. For 4 bucks a taco I felt ripped off. I do NOT ever recommend "Taco Boy" and I live within 3 miles of the Folly location. The "mexican" food in Charleston is sorely lacking. Tco BOy and Juanita Greenberg's are tied for gross, sub par food. At least Taco Boy is clean and dog free. JG was like eating in a dirty alley next to a garbage can.

6 of 7 people like this.
Posted by B Dalton on May 4, 2012 at 10:35 PM

Re: “Taco Boy

Taco Boy makes my rump go oyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! Maybe if they snuck Taco Bell in their back door, might spruce up the place?

6 of 7 people like this.
Posted by Zoe St Piesse on May 4, 2012 at 12:29 PM

Re: “Poe's Tavern

Too bad you can't put zero stars. I split a shrimp & chorizo quesadilla with a friend. We got a slimy grilled cheese sandwiched by cardboard-baked tortillas for $9. No shrimp & no chorizo. Since the waitress brought the paid check back in cash (bill was $26.84) and didn't bother to return our change (guess she really needed that 16 cents) she got to keep that change + 2 bucks for her tip. I get it now, you go there to see people and be seen. They only serve food so it will support their license to serve over-priced liquor. bleh

9 of 15 people like this.
Posted by Zoe St Piesse on May 4, 2012 at 12:24 PM

Re: “Taco Boy

This is a beautiful place with great atmosphere, but the food was salty, the tortilla soup and the bean soup, they were salty, we all tried it and we all agree the food was salty. The prices are high and the food was not that great, my fish taco had no fish practically! The menu said you get your choice of corn tortilla or flour tortilla but we were not asked, we all got what we got!. The salsa's were tasty, but the service was blaze, we had to ask for napkins, imagine that. And to top it all, they serve NO COFFEE! What a Mexican outfit does not serve coffee, I ask? It was 5:30 PM, I wanted coffee after my mediocre dinner and the waiter said, "Sorry mam, we serve no coffee"! what happened to service? Why can't they have a coffee pot and make coffee to enjoy with the "Tres Leches" cake, whish was good, I admit, but they had no coffee. They were aiming to sell cheap beer? Bad business ethics, mediocre service, over priced.

3 of 4 people like this.
Posted by Arturo Julieta on April 30, 2012 at 12:49 PM
Classified Listings
  • Lidl
    I have already shopped in Lidl store goose creek sc. three times. I find the… -tim wernicke
  • Black Bean Co.
    I am typically not one to complain or write a bad review but I felt… -Morgan P.

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2017, Charleston City Paper   RSS