Narrow Search

  • Show Only

  • Category

  • User Ratings

  • Narrow by Date

    • All
    • Today
    • Last 7 Days
    • Last 30 Days
    • Select a Date Range

Comment Archives: Locations: Restaurants: Pizza: 1 Star

Re: “Coastal Crust

Coastal Crust was the worst decision we made for our wedding. While their food is good, their customer service and follow through on contracted items is non-existent. We had specific requests (written into our contract) to make the day truly "ours". Brian never took care of any of them and months before the wedding our planner began asking about the status with little to no response and promises that were broken regularly. While we negotiated a rate due to the fact that we were providing a few items when the contract was originally procured, Brian continued to fight us when he couldn't provide what he promised which required us to provide even more (at retail) just 2 months before the wedding. We came close to firing him at this time and he renegotiated another rate during a meeting when he was asking us to rethink our position. Reluctantly we stuck with him, giving him the benefit of the doubt...big mistake. He took notes (again) and still didn't complete our wine tasting as requested (wine types were not correct again), not to mention he was late and we tasted wines while batting away a barrage of fruit flies in his location. He continued to falter on his promises and 10 days before the wedding we were told he raised the rates and we were basically told we could pay them or find someone else. In addition, 3 days before the wedding we found out that one of the specified beers he was supposed to be providing was not secured and we had to select something else, again, something we ended up procuring and supplying ourselves at retail. Now on to our wedding day, Brian and his team did show up (yes, sadly this was a concern of ours at this point). The guests enjoyed the appetizer that was provided and while we had specifically requested service for the bride and groom while we took photos during cocktail hour we only received a beer from one of our groomsmen when we asked for it. Dinner service starts and we (the bride and groom) are standing in a line of about 20 people and Coastal Crust ignored the fact (trust me, I wasn't hard to miss in my large dress)...our wedding planner ended up getting our food and serving us herself. Later we found out that Brian did not secure the one local craft beer he was supposed to and did not provide the domestic beer options requested for our two picky guests that were in the wedding party. In addition, he continued to charge us for a second appetizer that I realized was never provided after quizzing my guests days after the wedding. Brian would not provide a new invoice removing the items that he did not provide and wanted us to pay in full; to which we refused. We offered what we felt was a fair amount given the circumstances, lack of service / product, and the amount of stress he caused. During these emails after our wedding, Brian was everything but professional or polite and in his own roundabout way called us names and accused us of basically stealing from him (because we weren't willing to pay for things he didn't provide). At one point he even told us we were the worst decision he had made - believe me, we felt the same but never said this to him and remained professional and were willing to go to court over his actions during the course of our wedding. Hiring Coastal Crust still leaves a bad taste in my mouth and I barely even ate his food and only drank the beer/wine that we provided ourselves. If you want a vendor that you must babysit and still get things wrong, Coastal Crust is your go to.

12 of 15 people like this.
Posted by Holly Stromeyer on January 7, 2016 at 1:04 PM

Re: “D'Allesandro's Pizza

I have lived in Charleston for over 5 years and have been ordering from D’alls since the beginning. I have been highly disappointed the last few times I have ordered. First, the staff answering the phone has a tendency to be rude, especially the person working at 9:05 on Sunday, June 14th. I was put on hold for over 5 min and hung up on. I had to call 2 more times until someone answered. The guy was super rude and told me 45 min. 1:20 min later pizza arrived. Pizza was cold by then and my salad that I ordered had no dressing and was charged extra for ordering it. I've always loved your pizza but am starting to notice a decrease in quality. There seems to be a lot of inconsistency which I understand can happen with staff issues. I plan to order again at some point and both the rudeness of the staff and overall experience needs to improve or it will be my last time. I'm no restaurant expert, but I do believe the problem lies with your staff. I've enjoyed many pies from your establishment and hope things can turnaround so I can continue to support you guys.

5 of 7 people like this.
Posted by LKGriebel on July 18, 2013 at 2:23 PM

Re: “Norm's Pizza, Subs & Grill

I don't enjoy Norms at all. Mediocre burgers and pizza that tastes and smells rotten. But it's near the college, which is why I think it's popular.

4 of 9 people like this.
Posted by Paul Brannan on May 31, 2013 at 12:20 PM

Re: “Your Pie

lousy crust, enough said

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by coachz on March 19, 2013 at 7:09 PM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!! Go to Park Pizza in Park Circle awesome pizza and awesome customer service.
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!

This is the email exchange after my complaint. The owner/manager is far from professional...

We are very sorry for for your experience. I really wish you would have notified the manager in person so we could have rectified the situation at that time.
But instead you decided to go viral with your negative comments. Very unfair dont you think? Especially on one of our busier nights of the year with a sold out concert!! Of the thousands of people who came through our door sat, you were the only complaint.
We would have gladly taken care of your bill had you verbalized your complaint instead of what you did which will get you nothing instead.

Wow what a polite response. Reading past reviews your restaurant gets a lot of negative comments about customer service and reading your email I see the employees are just following your lead. You should go back and reread my original complaint. All I asked for was a normal sized table not a free meal and it's very rude to assume that was what I was writing you to get. Your restaurant won't last much longer with your horrible attitude and horrible customer service. You should ask yourself why a customer should have to ask for a manager to get a table when a restaurant is almost empty...

Many people sit at that table fine without complaining about the size of it.
I figured you wouldn't be happy with my apology. Why did I even bother.
We've been in business longer than many businesses onDI. Sorry we aren't going anywhere

I don't care what other people do or don't complain about. It's simple the restaurant was almost empty we wanted another table. Sorry you're not able to understand good customer service. I know you're butt hurt about negative comments on Yelp and Urbanspoon, but that's what they are there for. When you have a good or bad experience that is the appropriate place to voice it and let others know what is going on at restaurants. Obviously negative comments about your restaurant are beyond your comprehension and I will continue to tell people about my horrible experience at your restaurant. Your response was not an apology it was a rude attack You need to grow up and think before you email customers in such a rude manner. Keep your bad attitude to yourself!

7 of 15 people like this.
Posted by kylee on July 27, 2012 at 7:51 AM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

Clearly whomever is giving this place high ratings must be the owner or an employee. This place is terrible. Frankly the very worst service, food and management I have ever experienced. Your order will take forever to come out and when it does, don't expect it to be correct. I wish I had read reviews before going to Carolina Crust because I would have saved myself a lot of time and aggravation. Also, the owner will not hesitate to yell and cuss at customers- she was yelling at people at a table when we were in there. And she said negative things about Hanahan which I thought was very rude and offensive. We weren't even the objects of her rage but I would never ever go back to this place.

3 of 5 people like this.
Posted by mandim on December 2, 2011 at 9:22 AM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

This was the worst eating establishment I have ever experienced in the Charleston, SC area. The owner/management was the most unprofessional and rudest person I have ever come into contact with. Our office went to lunch to celebrate a birthday and she made it a horrible day for all of us. We waited almost 2 hours to be served and half of our party still did not receive their orders before we left, other orders were wrong, and the food was not all that great. She refused to cancel their orders and took her time giving the rest of us our checks so that we could return to work. After some very rude and belligerent comments, which included cuss words, from the owner/management, we paid our tabs and left without having to call the police to help us out. I would not recommend this place to anyone that wants a positive experience. The owner is a horrible young lady who has a very bad attitude!!

6 of 8 people like this.
Posted by reader45 on December 1, 2011 at 4:09 PM

Re: “Monza

Pizza is undersized & over priced. The flavor is good but nothing too special. They don't put much on the pizza - it's mostly just crust and sauce.

On top of it all, they throw a BS charge on the ticket for calling in an order to PICK UP. That's right, not a delivery fee, a pick up fee. I will never eat there again.

1 of 2 people like this.
Posted by chfc on December 20, 2010 at 12:15 PM

Re: “Monza

Not that impressed and very rude. When I ordered the "build your own pizza" and asked that the pepperoni be left off half the pizza (for my kids) i was told they would not do that, they are very strict. I said I would pay for the topping just dont put it on the whole pizza. They managed to do that some how(you get 6 slices, one large pepperoni on each slice, do the math) My pesto pizza w/the local shrimp again skimpy on the not so fresh shrimp. My husbands Ceasar very underdressed to the point neither of us was sure it had dressing at all. No problem they were happy to bring out extra dressing and actually charge us for it. We were never told the specials and felt that anything we asked for was an inconvience to them. The dough is thin and tasted great in the wood fired oven. The pizza toppings are run of the mill, nothing really creative and certainly not worth the attitude. Who do the think they are Danial Bould in New York? I'll take any snobby overpriced New York restaurant with good food, or the very laid back Mellow Mushroom Pizza over this place any day.

Posted by dealio on June 26, 2010 at 12:01 AM

Re: “Andolini's Pizza

I have been patronizing the downtown and WA locations since they each opened. I love pizza, and like to spread my pizza money around- Athens, D'allesandros, Monza, Mellow - always looking to satisfy the NY pizza craving. The last couple of times I have tried the Ando WA location, the food has been OK - not good or great. With this in mind, around 9PM I phoned in a take out order to the WA location. I was told it would be ready in 15 minutes. I gave them 20. When I showed up, the pizza had not been made yet. There was no one in the place, but they insisted they had been "busy". OK- I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. Waited about 10 minutes and the pizza was ready. Something seemed different about the way it looked from how I remembered it in the past. It was a mess, and there seemed to be missing cheese. I was told by the guys behind the counter that they had put the toppings on first and then the cheese- "so it would cook faster"! Well, the pizza tasted horrible, and was undercooked. A truly disappointing meal, made more disappointing by the memories of what once had been. Andolini's used to be the best pizza in Charleston. After my most recent experience, I would say it is the worst!

3 of 3 people like this.
Posted by JP123 on May 9, 2010 at 9:22 PM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

went for lunch it took 1 hour to get my pizza husband had sandwich the meat smelled bad pasta salad was not fit to eat was very very old what has happened to this place i would never go again no manger to help us out whanted me to pay for this the must be crazy

1 of 2 people like this.
Posted by roxy on February 19, 2010 at 5:34 PM

Re: “La Pizzeria

Completely overrated; it's really just average pizza.

0 of 2 people like this.
Posted by pizzareviewboard on January 31, 2010 at 7:40 PM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

had lunch at carolina crust and was not impressed at all. cheap food, bad service, horrible atmosphere, rude management. will never go again.

1 of 2 people like this.
Posted by charlie_sc on January 29, 2010 at 10:19 AM

Re: “Paisano's Pizza Grill

Beware, this place only delivers on the actual island. Unfortunately we decided to order from this place Sunday night. The associate took our order and we gave our address (we live in Avondale). They told us delivery would be approximately 25 minutes. 30 minutes later they called us back to tell us that they would absolutely NOT be delivering to Avondale. We spoke to a manager and were told that they "don't cross bridges." ...Apparently they burn them!

3 of 9 people like this.
Posted by clemsonMUSC on October 18, 2009 at 8:52 PM

Re: “EVO Pizza

In NYC, we don't barbecue the Pizza. Must be a Southern thing. I don't understand the char. In most places they cook on a Pizza stone to control heat. Please read one of the cook books on the shelf.

3 of 11 people like this.
Posted by johnn12345 on July 20, 2009 at 8:59 PM

Re: “A Dough Re Mi Pizzeria

Ordered pizza from there yesterday. While the pizza was very good, the experience was lame. I ordered for pick up and was told "20-30 minutes" on the phone. I got there 30 minutes after that and they tell me "5 more minutes." I then saw them toss the dough, put the ingredients on it, and put it in the oven. They didn't even start making it until 30 minutes after I called it in!

Needless to say 12 minutes later, the pizza I watched them prepare finally came out of the oven. I could hear the employees standing around talking about how long I had been waiting, but nobody offered an apology or concession. That's pretty poor customer service. If you have a completely empty restaurant, you should take care of the one patron you have. They were not remotely busy.

The pizza tasted good (not great), so nothing bad to say about that. However, there are other equally good pizza restaurants that offer much better service. I hate to bash a local place like this, but this was inexcusable...I won't be back.

0 of 2 people like this.
Posted by Ford84 on June 15, 2009 at 3:02 PM

Re: “Monza

I was irritated that they wouldn't allow substitution or addition of toppings. When those little bitty pizzas came out, I immediately felt ripped off. They are very stingy with the toppings.

Posted by hillman1492 on April 24, 2009 at 3:02 PM
Classified Listings
  • Lidl
    I have already shopped in Lidl store goose creek sc. three times. I find the… -tim wernicke
  • Black Bean Co.
    I am typically not one to complain or write a bad review but I felt… -Morgan P.

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2017, Charleston City Paper   RSS