Thursday, June 9, 2011

Crazyhorse announces award winners

Crazy Town

Posted by Erica Jackson Curran on Thu, Jun 9, 2011 at 4:00 AM

Crazyhorse, the literary journal at the College of Charleston, recently announced the winners of two major prizes out of nearly 2,000 entries.

Judge Jaimy Gordon, who won the 2010 National Book Award for Fiction for her novel Lords of Misrule, selected Matthew Vollono as the recipient of the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize for his story “Samaritan.” The finalists were John Tait and Steven LaFond.

Poetry judge Richard Jackson, a Pushcart Prize winner himself, awarded the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize to Molly Bashaw for the poem “There Were No Mirrors in That Farmhouse.” Finalists included Peter Mishler, Kevin Ducey, Shane Lake, Steve Gehrke, Brittany Perham, Marc McKee, Angie DeCola, Faye Kicknosway, and Veronica Patterson.

The winners will receive $2,000 and will have their work published in the November edition of the journal.

Tags: , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2020, Charleston City Paper   RSS