Narrow Search

Re: “Tattooed Moose, JI

After reading a couple of the bad reviews above, I wanted to come charging in here to the defense of this great place. The food is awesome, the beer selection is good (and always cold) and the crowd is a good mixture of what Charleston is...

That being said, I have to say that they are unfortunately spot on when it comes to reviews of the service and general attitude of the staff. At times it seems as if the hipster style of just being too cool to care bleeds from the atmosphere (where it's okay) to the service (where it's not.)

I go here often and will continue to do so. I humbly ask the ownership to take note of these trends in comments. It can't be all of them have a grudge or caught you on a bad day.

The only thing, in my opinion, anyone could say negatively about this place is the apparent apathy in customer service.

As I said, I will go back and I will continue to recommend it to family and friends. I just hope they get this bit corrected.

5 of 6 people like this.
Posted by scottvermin on August 31, 2015 at 12:37 PM

Re: “Mike's Bikes

"There are several bike shops in Mount Pleasant, I suggest you shop around."

That is right there are several, and they all suck.

Posted by The Super Saturn on August 31, 2015 at 11:18 AM

Re: “Tattooed Moose, JI

"The entire side wall is an open garage door to the outside bar and I expect bugs and heat inside during hot days. It seems a very odd design."
Bugs, heat, and cigarette smoke. No thanks, and thanks for the warning so I won't waste time and fuel going there.

6 of 9 people like this.
Posted by TROLLSLAYER on August 31, 2015 at 10:04 AM

Re: “Tattooed Moose, JI

Just back from the new Johns Island location. The food was tasty but the menu seems limited. The food is served in baskets which I find to be a pita. I got the cheesburger which came back quite charred and very well done. I tried to cut it in half and it fell to pieces. $8.50 + $1.50 for cheese gets you a burger like the one at Smokey Oaks for $5. No sides are included and the smallest fries are $2.50.

The walls are covered in stuffed animals which I'm not into and they crank classic rock even during lunch. I could see cranking at 8pm but really at 11:30 am? It just makes me want to hurry and not relax. The entire side wall is an open garage door to the outside bar and I expect bugs and heat inside during hot days. It seems a very odd design.

The tables are way too close putting everyone on top of each other. Overall, I'm not excited.
Extra points for having a sweet pinball machine.

10 of 11 people like this.
Posted by coachz on August 29, 2015 at 4:04 PM

Re: “Mike's Bikes

Very disappointing experience, received an estimate on phone for $40 for cascade and chain to be replaced on my old Trek. When I dropped the bike off, they upped the maximum potential estimate to $60 with no change in the scope of work. When I picked the bike up, they charged me $72. their explanation was they always need to adjust the derailer (sp?) when they replace a cascade and chain. When I questioned the manager on why it was not included in the first two estimates he blew me off as if I was trying to take advantage of him. There are several bike shops in Mount Pleasant, I suggest you shop around.

3 of 3 people like this.
Posted by Marc Retchin on August 28, 2015 at 10:22 AM

Re: “Toast of Charleston

I've only had breakfast here, but it was almost as good as waffle house and just 3 times more expensive

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by luvindisgig on August 26, 2015 at 4:09 PM

Re: “Myles and Jun Yakitori

Incredible food and service!

1 of 1 people like this.
Posted by Tara Bailey on August 26, 2015 at 7:03 AM

Re: “Bucca's Bar & Grill

Mgmt. is horrible, the order was messed up and after repeatedly calling and reaching the answering machine she agreed to compensate for their mistake. We did not pick up their replacement. (Too late and too much inconvenience). When I called the next day, to explain what had happened, the manager raged and hung up on me. Way to treat your customers!

Posted by visitor on August 15, 2015 at 6:24 PM

Re: “Tattooed Moose, JI

I can't wait until the one on Johns Island is open. I work like 1 mile from there. I know they had some construction issues, but they have to be close now.

2 of 4 people like this.
Posted by kma71 on August 13, 2015 at 2:41 PM

Re: “Club Upscale

EVERY THIRD SUNDAY IS AWESOME. THIS IS A MUST ATTEND EVENT AUGUST 16TH DOORS OPEN AT 6:30PM.

Posted by Betty Wright on August 13, 2015 at 12:57 AM

Re: “Tattooed Moose, JI

i have been going here since they opened. i LOVE it! the service is always friendly and it is my favorite local hang out and they always have great music playing.

1 of 4 people like this.
Posted by havens1 on August 12, 2015 at 11:02 AM

Re: “Dukes Barbecue

Need to visit duke's bbq to up date prices and things that they now serve. On Wednesday they serve meatloaf. On Thursday they serve livers and gizzards. On Friday they have red rice and floudwrs. They are open on Tuesday and Wednesday until 8 pm! On the weekends they sell missippi mud pie. Which is available, during the other days also if you ask and they have left overs. They still have the best bbq and fried chicken is the bestest!

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by Witchcatt56 on August 11, 2015 at 1:42 PM

Re: “Ye Olde Fashioned

This business has been open for a long time. It's not in a tourist area. You can say whatever, but to say locals avoid it is definitely incorrect.

4 of 6 people like this.
Posted by Cid95 on August 11, 2015 at 12:00 PM

Re: “Republic Garden and Lounge

You can't wear a ball cap in a bar?

I'm of the opinion that if I am paying you to serve me anything, I can wear what I please.

Typical pretentious King Street BS. Thanks for the heads-up Beau.

10 of 13 people like this.
Posted by Todd Gaines on August 10, 2015 at 3:40 PM

Re: “Ye Olde Fashioned

Hey, Los Saturn, I don't know if you are in the same Charleston as I am, but locals use this place quite frequently. You must have had a bad experience, but please don't say things about the place that are just not true. Best food in Charleston? No. But for what they have, it tastes good, has large portions, and has been around probably longer than you have been alive. Hymans, however, is definitely one to avoid if you live around here. But the lines that form along Meeting St. are those that any restaurant owner would love!

5 of 7 people like this.
Posted by localhutch on August 10, 2015 at 1:54 PM

Re: “Millie Lewis of Charleston

Sorry, Leatrice. But most of these places are scams. They tell EVERYONE that their kids are cute, should be models, and charge you a fortune out of guilt. I'd check my contract to see if it has anything about being on the web page, and then, if it is, try and find someone in charge over there that can help you. But don't go over expecting anything different to happen. Just be grateful that you have not spent more good money after bad.

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by localhutch on August 10, 2015 at 1:49 PM

Re: “Republic Garden and Lounge

Republic lost all credibility with us...Thursday night found us looking forward to the Third Annual School Supply Drive at Republic. (http://www.charlestoncitypaper.com/charleston/third-annual-school-supply-drive-at-republic/Event?oid=5349300) We shopped for supplies, having fun thinking about when WE were back in school so many years ago, and looking forward to an evening of cocktails and supporting a good cause. On the way over the bridge, we even heard an advertisement for the event.

Imagine our surprise when the host knew nothing about the event. So we went to the bar and found out...nothing. No one knew anything about the event. We asked several other patrons who were also holding book bags of school supplies. Nothing. Finally, one gentleman at the bar said a manager had come out, and bought him a drink, but that event was cancelled. So we asked to see a manager. We were told he was out (at 10:00 p.m. on a Thursday??).

We figured we would enjoy a cocktail at least, to salvage the evening. We stood at the bar (with 5 empty stools), and a bartender directly in front of us, wiping glasses, for over 7 minutes. No acknowledgement, no order, nothing. And two other bartenders at the end, talking to each other.

At this, we gave up and left. Yesterday, we stopped by Mamie Whitesides Elementary, and dropped off the supplies to an extremely grateful Ms. Pounder, the principal, working outside at the school doing landscaping.

Republic, you dropped the ball on this in a big way...

P.S. Does it seem absurd that a bar bans ball caps inside, but then is selling a ball cap with their name on it?

31 of 32 people like this.
Posted by Beau Stevens on August 8, 2015 at 9:11 AM

Re: “Millie Lewis of Charleston

The only thing that I liked about this school is they did teach me a lot. In the same since though I attended this school over 3 years ago and my picture is still not on the web sight and I have not gotten any calls for any auditions (probably because my picture isn't on the website) and they have done nothing to help me toward my dream. I understand the prices as much as I don't like them and even though I don't think its fair to have to take another class after I have paid you over $700 to take 1 you have to spend money to make money, but I refuse to spend anymore money with this school. So I say Millie Lewis of Charleston is not the school you should attend if you are serious about your acting career!!!

1 of 1 people like this.
Posted by leatricejohnson on August 6, 2015 at 4:51 PM

Re: “Artisan Meat Share

Excellent spot. The Bun Mi sandwich was perfect, with a nice steamed bun exterior, and bahn mi style pork inside. Their charcuterie is well made and full of salty goodness. I am glad they are downtown, and not near my house. I would gain way too much weight eating there.

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by brewengineer on August 6, 2015 at 11:56 AM

Re: “Artisan Meat Share

The only problem I have with this place is that it's close to work, and after I eat there I don't want anything but a nap. Greasy goodness...

2 of 3 people like this.
Posted by Laura Davis on August 4, 2015 at 4:03 PM
Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2016, Charleston City Paper   RSS