This is a past event.

Tribes 

When: Fri., Aug. 30, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 31, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 5, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 6, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Sept. 7, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 12, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 13, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Sept. 14, 4 & 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 19, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 20, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Sept. 21, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Sept. 26, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Sept. 27, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Sept. 28, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Oct. 3, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Oct. 4, 7:30 p.m. and Sat., Oct. 5, 7:30 p.m. 2013
Phone: (843) 723-4444
Price: $30
puretheatre.org
What if you were unable to communicate with your own family? Tribes, PURE Theatre’s new production, examines the idea of a physical communication barrier. The award-winning drama by Nina Raine follows the life of a deaf boy with a family that doesn’t know sign language. Tribes explores communication and understanding within his family but also in other hearing impaired circles — with both groups representing different “tribes.” When the main character meets a girl who is losing her hearing, the differing values of the hearing and non-hearing communities become evident. Directed by Cristy Landis, Tribes shows the complications that arise when these groups intersect and how to work toward bridging those barriers.
— Amanda Merritt

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2014, Charleston City Paper   RSS