This is a past event.

The Trip to Bountiful 

When: Fri., Feb. 24, Sat., Feb. 25, Thu., March 1, Fri., March 2, Sat., March 3, Sun., March 4, Fri., March 9, Sat., March 10, Thu., March 15, Fri., March 16 and Sat., March 17 2012
Phone: (843) 856-1579
Price: $27/adults, $25/seniors, $20/students
www.villageplayhouse.com
Few playwrights can capably transform tales about lonely old women into riveting works of art we can relate to. The Trip to Bountiful, hitting the Village Playhouse stage this week, does just that. In the play, director Keely Enright presents a creative rendition of Horton Foote’s Pulitzer Prize-winning film. What unfolds is the heart-wrenching story of Carrie Watts, an aging widow living with her son and daughter-in-law in Houston, Texas. Concerned that her presence is an imposition to others and eager to escape her overbearing daughter-in-law, Carrie dreams of returning to her hometown of Bountiful, where she’s certain she’ll regain her strength, dignity, and peace of mind. As she sets out to make her dreams reality, we’re left to reflect on the idea of home and its power to sustain us. This sentimentality is no accident: At this season’s close, Village Playhouse is moving after 11 years at their original Mt. Pleasant location. For Enright, The Trip to Bountiful was a perfect sendoff. “It deals with the idea of home and where we belong in the world,” she says. “It’s a very touching and intelligent play, and I think audiences of all ages can relate to Carrie’s journey.”
— Lacey Young

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2015, Charleston City Paper   RSS