This is a past event.

Stede Bonnet, The Gentleman Pirate 

When: Saturdays, 3:30 p.m., Fri., May 28, 5 p.m., Sat., May 29, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Sun., May 30, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Wed., June 2, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Thu., June 3, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Fri., June 4, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Sat., June 5, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Sun., June 6, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Wed., June 9, 3:30 & 5 p.m., Thu., June 10, 3:30 & 5 p.m. and Fri., June 11, 5 p.m. Continues through Nov. 27 2010
Price: $13/adults, $11/children
www.PowderMag.org

See Rodney Rogers (Pure Theatre) as he portrays the infamous Stede Bonnet. Experience first-hand stories of Blackbeard and other pirates of the "Golden-Age of Piracy."

Walk the plank, please
In this one-man show, PURE Theatre co-founder Rodney Lee Rogers plays a real pirate with a difference. Stede Bonnet bought his ship and weapons, hired a crew, and dressed like an aristocrat. Unluckily for Bonnet, he hooked up with Blackbeard, who showed him how pirates were supposed to behave by stripping his ship and marooning many of the crew. Rogers brings Bonnet to life in a play based around the pirate's trial.

Rogers is a local treasure
He's a writer, actor, and director who has edified audiences with plays like The Tragedian, Hogs, and Killing Chickens. He's able to immerse himself in a character who interacts with the audience. "Sometimes Bonnet's a little nastier," says Rogers, "sometimes he doesn't make his case so well. Every show's different."

There ain't enough room to swing a cat
The Powder Magazine has a lengthy history. Completed in 1713, it gives a sense of what Charleston was like as an English walled city. But despite its big legacy, the Magazine is very small — it can only hold an audience of 40 people for this intimate show, with Rogers nose to nose with patrons.

— Nick Smith
click to enlarge KAITLYN ISERMAN FILE PHOTO

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2016, Charleston City Paper   RSS