This is a past event.

Fiddler on the Roof 

When: Thu., Oct. 24, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 25, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., Thu., Oct. 31, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 1, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 2, 8 p.m., Thu., Nov. 7, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 8, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 9, 8 p.m., Sun., Nov. 10, 3 p.m., Thu., Nov. 14, 8 p.m., Fri., Nov. 15, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 16, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 17, 3 p.m. 2013
Phone: (843) 277-2172
Email: thresholdrep@gmail.com
Price: $25, $20 (seniors), $10 (students)
charlestontheater.com
Here’s the problem with reviving a classic musical: On the one hand, it’s a classic because people love it. On the other, because people love it, you’d better treat it well — or else. Which says something about the chutzpah of Charleston’s Threshold Repertory Theatre, a black box operation on Society Street that’s opening its fourth season in October with a production of Fiddler on the Roof. Threshold picked the story of Tevye and his five daughters because it fits into the season’s theme of family. It’s the story of Jews caught up in the pograms of early 20th century Russia, but its exploration of tradition in the face of changing times gives it a universal quality, says Pamela Nichols Galle, Threshold's artistic director. Black box theater is traditionally whisper-intimate, but her experience staging The Robber Bridegroom in season two with technical director Mike Kordek convinced them both that Threshold’s physical limitations can be used to reshape a big musical into something remarkable. “We’ve had some big, beautiful voices [in here], and they work,” Galle says. “What happens in this space is that the audience seriously begins to blend with the story. And if we do this show right, it will happen again. That’s my expectation.”
— Dan Conover

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2014, Charleston City Paper   RSS