This is a past event.

Behanding in Spokane 

When: Fri., Jan. 6, Sat., Jan. 7, Fri., Jan. 13, Sat., Jan. 14, Fri., Jan. 20, Sat., Jan. 21, Fri., Jan. 27, Sat., Jan. 28, Sun., Jan. 29, Thu., Feb. 2, Fri., Feb. 3 and Sat., Feb. 4 2012
Price: $20-$30/adults, $15/student rush
It doesn’t take much to realize that the world isn’t always evenhanded. That’s especially true for Carmichael, whose left hand has been missing for over 50 years. Find out how he intends to get it back in PURE Theatre’s production of Behanding in Spokane. The play is set in a hotel room, where Carmichael is trapped with an obnoxious couple who say they know where to find his hand. The comedic work is Irish playwright Martin McDonagh’s first to be set in America, and like most of his works, this one finds the hilarity in violence, tragedy, and even depression. It may sound like a bizarre mix, but according to director Randy Neale, it’s as realistic as comedy gets. “It stretches the boundaries of disbelief but seems no more preposterous than the news that we read every day,” Neale says. “All we can do is shake our heads and laugh.”
— Abigail Darlington
click to enlarge DAVID MANDEL


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2016, Charleston City Paper   RSS