This is a past event.

Stelle Di Domani Series: Lone Star 

When: Fri., May 28, 6:30-7:30 p.m., Sat., May 29, 4-5 p.m., Sun., May 30, 6-7 p.m., Fri., June 4, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Sat., June 5, 9:30-10:30 p.m., Sun., June 6, 6-7 p.m., Wed., June 9, 8-9 p.m., Thu., June 10, 6-7 p.m., Fri., June 11, 8:30-9:30 p.m. and Sat., June 12, 6-7 p.m. 2010
Price: $16/adults, $13/seniors and students
www.piccolospoleto.com

A hilarious comedy revolving around one night in the life of former high school hot shot Roy Caulder. Part of the Stelle Di Domani Series at Piccolo Spoleto Festival.

Catch a modern classic
This '70s-set play by James McClure features a lonely man returning home from the Vietnam War. He sits with his brother Ray behind a bar in the small Texas town where he grew up. He drinks beer, listens to Hank Williams music, and remarks on how much life has changed in his old stomping ground. But is it the town that's changed or the soldier himself?

One of the characters is called Cletis
Roy's fat-headed friend breaks up the banter between the two brothers. Cletis is clueless, reflecting another aspect of small-town America — the village idiot.

This version was a hit last fall
Sam McCalla's production of Lone Star met with near-universal approval as part of the College of Charleston's student-led Center Stage season. Although the story of an unloved soldier sounds sad, "The characters are so outrageous but so real at the same time, it's one of the funniest plays I've ever seen," McCalla says. With vulgar gags delivered at a machine-gun pace, Lone Star is far more than a look at the plight of war vets. It's a highly accessible take on growing up and growing apart from the people you love.

— Nick Smith

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Classified Listings
Most Viewed

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2014, Charleston City Paper   RSS