Apparently the food is only good on weekends. We went last Monday and I had to send my steak back because it was nothing but fat. My husband's shrimp and grits were gritty. There was trash and flies in the windowsill while the waitstaff stood around and talked. Not to mention the table was sticky. Very dissatisfied.
I went to Cypress for the first time last night for Restaurant Week. It cost $90 with tip for two restaurant week dinners and a martini - the martini (Lavender) was the only thing worth paying for.
Started with Lobster Bisque - it was okay. I had the Koren Beef BBQ for dinner and the first four or five bites tasted like nothing but char and ash from the grill. The rice and veggies were lackluster and overall I decided I'd rather save the calories for dessert. Bad idea. The Pecan Pie was horrible. One of the worst desserts I've ever had during restaurant week. It was small and round and I had to hold on to it with my hand in order to cut the crust. The middle was dry and it was just...definitely not good.
As someone who looks forward to restaurant week each September/January and really enjoys trying new places I can't normally afford, I was very dissappointed to have wasted my money here. If I ever go again, it will be to get a Lavender Martini from the bar upstairs - I'll eat dinner somewhere else.
Worst meal of my life.
I've traveled to hundreds of USA cities and several dozen other countries.
If you want to be physically molested, handshakes, hands on your back, your hand handed off to the next person guidng you to your table:
If you want to spend OVER 50% of your time making converstation with owners and staff continuously and aggresively interupting your meal:
If you want to drop $100 per person (everything is ala carte) as even the house steak sauce is an additional $3 (Really?):
If you want good to awesome food interupted with a family (think drunk family thanksgiving with the weird, center of attention, grabby Uncle) style experience:
This is your place.
I would not go back for anything including work or family.
Dinner last night was remarkably lackluster at a steep price.Something is badly amiss here
Never consistent with food or service. Service is always rude. Always leaving something off especially on the salads. Gives a lot of greens but never enough toppings and for $10.80 let's get real. Would love to eat there again but being let down time and again I not worth getting angry every time!
Focus on making better chicken and keep your mouth shut!
Made a trip to the new Mt. Pleasant location after rave reviews from several sources. Was crowded on a Saturday around 6- waited for a table for several minutes. We were seated shortly after in a smaller
Table that wasn't be cleared
For us initally. Service was horrible!! Only saw our waiter 2 times total. No refills on drinks the entire time we were there- and they were empty within the first 10 minutes. No refills on chips or salsa. Staff aimlessly walking around and not attentive at all. Food was luke warm and some bites almost stone cold. Not authentic and pretty bland. Would not recommend this location to anyone.
this bigot chicken store does not deserve decent human patronage ... cHIK FILTHY A has made their corporation policy and "values" clear, hate and discrimination hiding behind freedom of religion.... THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH 2 PEOPLE LOVING EACH OTHER but instead Owner Don Cathy insists only breeding pairs are going to recieve his blessing or corporation donations.... this leaves the infertile and gays declared inferiour, the very working definition of bigotry, I've never spent a penny here and no other kindly human should ZERO STARS for putrid fowl & foul mouth executive giving money to religious hate groups in the million$
WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!! Go to Park Pizza in Park Circle awesome pizza and awesome customer service.
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!
This is the email exchange after my complaint. The owner/manager is far from professional...
We are very sorry for for your experience. I really wish you would have notified the manager in person so we could have rectified the situation at that time.
But instead you decided to go viral with your negative comments. Very unfair dont you think? Especially on one of our busier nights of the year with a sold out concert!! Of the thousands of people who came through our door sat, you were the only complaint.
We would have gladly taken care of your bill had you verbalized your complaint instead of what you did which will get you nothing instead.
Wow what a polite response. Reading past reviews your restaurant gets a lot of negative comments about customer service and reading your email I see the employees are just following your lead. You should go back and reread my original complaint. All I asked for was a normal sized table not a free meal and it's very rude to assume that was what I was writing you to get. Your restaurant won't last much longer with your horrible attitude and horrible customer service. You should ask yourself why a customer should have to ask for a manager to get a table when a restaurant is almost empty...
Many people sit at that table fine without complaining about the size of it.
I figured you wouldn't be happy with my apology. Why did I even bother.
We've been in business longer than many businesses onDI. Sorry we aren't going anywhere
I don't care what other people do or don't complain about. It's simple the restaurant was almost empty we wanted another table. Sorry you're not able to understand good customer service. I know you're butt hurt about negative comments on Yelp and Urbanspoon, but that's what they are there for. When you have a good or bad experience that is the appropriate place to voice it and let others know what is going on at restaurants. Obviously negative comments about your restaurant are beyond your comprehension and I will continue to tell people about my horrible experience at your restaurant. Your response was not an apology it was a rude attack You need to grow up and think before you email customers in such a rude manner. Keep your bad attitude to yourself!
I should have posted this comment a long time ago. As I drove by Christophe Artisan Chocolatier today, and was reminded of the terrible experience I had with the people who own this business, and I needed to vent about it.
In 2011, I purchased a Groupon coupon for $40.00 assortment of Christophe's chocolates. The deal was run just before Valentine's Day, so I decided to use my coupon on chocolates for my boyfriend, who is a chocoholic. When I called in a week before the holiday, I was told that the chocolatier was swamped with Valentine's Day orders, and they wouldn't be able to fill my order at that time. I understood how busy they were, and decided to redeem my coupon at a later date.
I called them several times, and each time I was given the runaround. I was told to call another number, but no one answered the phone at that phone number. At one point someone took my phone number and promised to call me back. No one called me back, and after numerous unsuccessful attempts to redeem my coupon, I gave up. So I was out $20.00.
If business owners offer Groupon deals and take our money, they should be responsible enough to make good on the deal we bought.
The new place in Mt Pleasant is awful. Crowded, noisey, slow service, warm and weak margaritas. Unfriendly staff. No diversity in staff (7-8 pissed off looking Mexicans running around. They won't make it here..... too many options. Santi needs to open another place on Ashely Phosphate where they put up with this garbage
Park Circle deserves and needs a great coffee shop. Unfortunately, Richard's is not filling that need. The atmosphere is stale and not inviting at all. The self-serve coffee setup with cheap plastic cups is not found in any other reputable coffee shop.
Didn't this operation fail once before? Why not try something different this time?
Interesting. After I posted, I received 51 friend requests? Not to mention the fella who stated 'Just wanted to say hi and that I loved your reviews on the city paper of taco boy and poes! I use to work for them and I am so happy I don't anymore' so Ima Oldmann & Jaxx can suck it. Dogs allowed? Then POST IT. How they are allowed? POST IT!
Purchased an iced coffee here recently. When I entered I was surprised at how hap-hazard everything seemed. The decor was a mix of mismatched artwork and food items such as half opened loaves of bread, canned items, etc. I placed my order for a "specialty coffee" drink and was told by the nice lady behind the counter that I would have to wait for Richard (the owner) to return because she doesn't know how to make those types of drinks. I waited 15 minutes and was about to walk out when Richard returned. My drink was flavorless, watered down, and over-priced. With the recent influx of new restaurants, bars, and new home owners you would think that Park Circle would be able to not only support but demand a top drawer coffee house.
This was the worst HVAC service I have ever recieved. I had an air conditioning unit installed by First Choice and it did not work for even 6 months before I started having issues with it. Now i have been waiting for 6 months to have my air conditioning unit fixed. It took them nearly 4 months before they attempted to fix it ( not only do i not have ac but i didnt have heat in the winter time) Finally it was deemed unfixable and needed to be replaced 2 months ago. I have since been waiting for a new unit and have received excuses after excuses as to why First Chioce could not get to me. Honestly if i could have given this company no stars I would have. It is a joke that they call themselves First Choice... try again... Last Choice.
I know it was 10pm on a Sunday. But, that's no reason for the hamachi nigiri to be almost room temperature and the wasabi to be dry. And the olives in the martini were absolutely tasteless and lacking pimentos in 2 out of 3. This place needs a good scrubbing in the back of the house. Men's restroom in serious need of attention. Also suggest covering the window in the kitchen door. Seeing food scraps all over work surfaces and general unsightliness is disturbing.
over priced, run down dump. poorly kept
The $2 glasses are always scratched and ridiculously glarey! Then when I ask for a new pair that arent sctatched, some lesbian teenage girl, who is pissed I'm a man is mad I pointed it out and gives me an attitude about wanting a perfect picture. For fourteen bucks i would say go to oakbrook on ladson for customer sevice and seven dollars and a caring experience. Worst cinema experience ever! Not worth it.
too damn loud!
Lunchless On Cinco De Mayo!
We had high hopes for this restaurant. The reviews said Excellent Authentic Food! I should have read more reviews.We will never know as no one wanted to service us lunch! I remained determined even after walking into a dark somewhat uninviting bar atmosphere. That has been misleading before, but not this time.
We were seated by a gentleman with some pretty interesting eyebrows painted on above his made up eyes. They were impressive. He gave us our menus and took our drink order. The first indicator of a problem were the cold greasy chips that were delivered to the table. Then.....
That was the end of anyone coming to our table. My husband noticed the gentleman with the makeup taking an order from a Hispanic couple that came in after we did and had their drinks already. After 15 minutes, we got up, still nothing to drink, to find the original gentleman standing behind the bar talking with a bar patron (who was not there when we arrived and already had his drink). He stood there and looked at us as I approached him and I said, "I'm sorry but we have to leave but I am starving.". His deer in the headlights response was, "Okay". We went down the street to La Nortena, we were greeted like we were welcome, had great service, and an excellent lunch. Ole'!!
Powered by Foundation
© Copyright 2014,
Charleston City Paper