Narrow Search

  • Show Only

  • Category

  • User Ratings

  • Narrow by Date

    • All
    • Today
    • Last 7 Days
    • Last 30 Days
    • Select a Date Range

Comment Archives: Locations: Restaurants: Pizza

Re: “Park Pizza Co.

We order Park Pizza about 1-2x a month. We would order it more if we weren't trying to watch our spending. That being said, when the pizza arrives to our front door (they deliver to Hanahan folks!) we are always thrilled with the results. My husband always has the same thing every time. He throws together a pizza with jalapenos and bbq pork that he swears is phenom. I usually go with the pizza of the month which never fails to disappoint. The combos there are so good that I rarely go to the regular menu pizzas but when I do, again I am pleased with the variety and flavor combos that most other pizza joints would shy away from. I will say that the Partridge in a Pear Tree (Cheddar, Mozzerlla, Chicken Sausage, Pear Preserves, Sauteed Onions, Dates...sounds crazy, right..crazy good is more like it!) from December's Pizza of the Month is my all-time fave and I cry on Jan 1st not because another year has passed but because I can no longer get that pizza. ( I tried...they don't have the stuff anymore.) In any event, when ordering keep an open mind and branch out from the pepperoni and transcend into Thai , Indian, Crawford or even She-Crab when ordering pizza. You'll be pleasantly surprised and back for more.

4 of 5 people like this.
Posted by mrwhitsie on January 5, 2013 at 9:12 AM

Re: “Pizza Roma Diner

Okay, so I don't know pizza like a lot of people on here. I've prob never really turned down any style or make of pizza when offered. but....dang.
This Place is awesome. Give it a try!
So far I've tried a lot of menu items before i thought to write review and not a bad word to say in the bunch.
I think the super philly is right up with the best you can get around town. I'm a big fan of the competitor in summerville..but that is a bit far of a drive for me on a regular basis.
This is a lot closer to almost anywhere in town and yummy.
Oh and definitely try a slice of the Coconut Cake if at all possible!

1 of 1 people like this.
Posted by artrogue on September 9, 2012 at 12:08 PM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

No need to worry about this place anymore. It is closed, space looks like it will become LG's by the Creek.

Posted by Muskie on August 16, 2012 at 8:40 PM

Re: “Steel City PIzza Co.

Huge menu, lots of beers on draft (seasonals, IPA's, porters, etc) the pizza is good, not the best in Charleston but good enough to order consistently. The cajun chicken pasta is great, the weggies make great to-go food on the way to Sullivan's, the service is friendly, if not blazing fast. Good neighborhood bar/eatery.

1 of 1 people like this.
Posted by jm2758 on August 6, 2012 at 5:49 PM

Re: “Park Pizza Co.

I only have one complaint about this place. It's that I did not try it earlier. My family has been looking for a place where we can get a quality pie. Tried Park Pizza today after hemming and hawing on it. This place is awesome sauce. Chicken that is actually baked? Not oversauced or with too much cheese! I was really happy that I ate here and will be back. It is not EVO, nor does it try to be, just another slice of pizza goodness in Park Circle. If the owners could come and take over Carolina Crust ("The Krust") in Tanner Plantation, it would shorten my drive and automatically become the best pizza place in Hanahan.

5 of 6 people like this.
Posted by Muskie on August 5, 2012 at 8:54 PM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!! Go to Park Pizza in Park Circle awesome pizza and awesome customer service.
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!

This is the email exchange after my complaint. The owner/manager is far from professional...

Vespa...
We are very sorry for for your experience. I really wish you would have notified the manager in person so we could have rectified the situation at that time.
But instead you decided to go viral with your negative comments. Very unfair dont you think? Especially on one of our busier nights of the year with a sold out concert!! Of the thousands of people who came through our door sat, you were the only complaint.
We would have gladly taken care of your bill had you verbalized your complaint instead of what you did which will get you nothing instead.

Me...
Wow what a polite response. Reading past reviews your restaurant gets a lot of negative comments about customer service and reading your email I see the employees are just following your lead. You should go back and reread my original complaint. All I asked for was a normal sized table not a free meal and it's very rude to assume that was what I was writing you to get. Your restaurant won't last much longer with your horrible attitude and horrible customer service. You should ask yourself why a customer should have to ask for a manager to get a table when a restaurant is almost empty...

Vespa...
Many people sit at that table fine without complaining about the size of it.
I figured you wouldn't be happy with my apology. Why did I even bother.
We've been in business longer than many businesses onDI. Sorry we aren't going anywhere

Me..
I don't care what other people do or don't complain about. It's simple the restaurant was almost empty we wanted another table. Sorry you're not able to understand good customer service. I know you're butt hurt about negative comments on Yelp and Urbanspoon, but that's what they are there for. When you have a good or bad experience that is the appropriate place to voice it and let others know what is going on at restaurants. Obviously negative comments about your restaurant are beyond your comprehension and I will continue to tell people about my horrible experience at your restaurant. Your response was not an apology it was a rude attack You need to grow up and think before you email customers in such a rude manner. Keep your bad attitude to yourself!

7 of 13 people like this.
Posted by kylee on July 27, 2012 at 7:51 AM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

WHAT A HORRIBLE PLACE!!!
My husband and I came in on a Saturday night at 10pm. There were about 3 tables being used outside and 2 being used inside when we arrived. Inside we told the hostess we would like to sit inside and she aimlessly walked around like she was lost in the empty restaurant. There were only 2 tables being used and she couldn't figure out where to seat us. After a few minutes she offered the smallest table that was dirty. I asked her for a real table and pointed out that the restaurant was almost empty. She told me that we had to have a party of 5 to sit at any other table. We came in to have a few drinks and food there was no way we could fit everything on a tiny table. I'm shocked that a restaurant would turn patrons away! I can't believe that a restaurant promotes this horrible service. They need to teach their hostess and probably all of their other employees about respect and customer service. After we left the restaurant we found another one that was more than happy to give us a normal sized table and offered us fantastic customer service and food. Thank you for trying to ruin our evening!

4 of 11 people like this.
Posted by kylee on July 16, 2012 at 7:44 PM

Re: “New Moon Pizzeria & Pub

I don't know what planet ‘new moon’, the pizzeria and pub on Johns island is orbiting, but I seriously doubt it is planet earth. Last night at this poor excuse for restaurant a couple of my friends and I were treated to hands down the worst night out I have had in years. Walking through the front door you could see the restaurant was littered with dirty tables, and the slow moving, preoccupied staff were not bothered by them in the slightest. Instead they seemed to be more interested with the i-pod. They seemed completely amused starting and stopping songs in the middle as they argued over which one was their favorite. To say the service was horrible or terrible would mean acknowledging it existed in the first place. I just can’t do that in good conscience. There just was no service. We waited 15 minutes to be greeted by the bartender and an additional 15 minutes for a couple of beers. The food was terrible, I mean really bad. A buddy had the sliders, dry beef and bread on the burger, a cold meatball that seemed to be dipped in nothing more than tomato sauce on the meatball sandwich. My friend and I had the pizza; it was soggy, and topped with cheap ingredients that were not even fresh. I did ask for a manager, but I assumed there was no way one could be working at that time... Much to my surprise and horror I was told that the owner was in fact there, and slim Jim, or turtle wax would be by shortly and happy to talk to us about our concerns. About ten minutes later snatch, or zippy, or mosquito bite, or whatever it is that this forty something with a ten year old's nickname calls himself did come out of the kitchen, with a smile on his face. He walked past us and went straight to the bar. He poured five or six shots proceeded to drink them with a table of girls, and then went back to the kitchen. I can only assume he was hard at work disguising pig feed as people food.

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by J.Winter on April 14, 2012 at 3:10 PM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

"retro-futuristic vibe"? What the . . .?

Posted by pookadot1 on March 10, 2012 at 12:53 AM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

I've been to Vespa maybe 12 to 15 times over the last two years and they have really gotten better at each visit. Always liked the joint but they have listened to the comments and criticisms over the years and seem to have really put together a restaurant that will be a mainstay. Always friendly, some interesting menu items, cool spot on DI, I congratulate them on doing a fine job and wish them well in the future.

6 of 7 people like this.
Posted by theleiman on March 8, 2012 at 12:22 PM

Re: “Vespa Pizzeria

Fantastic !

3 of 3 people like this.
Posted by lowcountry foodie on March 7, 2012 at 5:40 PM

Re: “EVO

Not that Urbanspoon is the end all be all but after reading Rosemary's review and positive comments about Baroni's I figured I would look them up. I am always up for a good pizza. Well, 74% approve for a restaurant with a solid third of the reviews negative is not very enticing. I looked at Evo's and 92% positive with nearly four times as many votes and out of the 37 reviews only four were negative, and two of those were about price. If you understand what Evo is doing and how much effort goes into their food you will understand why they have to charge the prices that they do. If not, I would suggest Cici's, that just means that when I have to go on the customary wait at EVO it will at least be for people who understand what they are eating and drinking and not be looking for the nearest buffet trough.

5 of 8 people like this.
Posted by nofaith on January 30, 2012 at 11:06 AM

Re: “EVO

Great food, great beer, great service, consistently.

3 of 3 people like this.
Posted by kmacky on January 28, 2012 at 2:41 PM

Re: “Brixx

On Tap: Southerntier 2xIPA, Grand Teton Sweetgrass APA, Grand Teton Bitch Creek ESB, Abita Purple Haze, Blue Moon Belgian White, Harpoon Winter Warmer, Spaten Optimator, Widmer Hefe, Amstel Light, Highland Oatmeal Porter, Steven's Point Root Beer, Terrapin Rye Pale Ale, Yuengling, Stella Artois, Newcastle, Coast HopArt IPA, Magic Hat #9, Sierra Celebration, Sam Adams Winter, New Belgium Fat Tire, 1554, Harpoon Vermont Spruce Tip, Guinness, Bitburger Pilsener, Great Divide Titan IPA, Highland Cold Mountain.

Bottles: Bell's Christmas Ale, New Holland Mad Hatter, Bear Republic Black Bear Stout, Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye, Alewerks Washington Porter, Sam Smith Nut Brown, New Planet Gluten Free (Tread Lightly Ale, 3R Raspberry Ale), New Belgium Belgo, Kaliber NA, Corona, and most major domestics.

Wine: House Merlot, Cab Sauv, and Chardonnay by Lamplighter Vineyards, Clos du Bois Chard, Liberty School Chard, Pacific Rim Riesling, Chateau Ste. Michelle Sauv Blanc, Beringer White Zin, Stella Pinot Grigio, Ecco Domani Pinot Grigio, Oyster Bay Merlot, Sterling Cab Sauv, Castle Rock Pinot Noir, Trapiche Pinot Noir, Hardy's Shiraz, Ruffino Classico Chianti, Bodega Elena Malbec, Zen of Zin.

Beer list is always changing based on seasonal offerings and taps are NEVER empty. Wine list is well rounded and affordably priced. Not a fine dining list, but certainly not "plonk".

As a personal note, Mellow Mushroom rocks! I love their food. However, comparing a Brixx pizza to a Mellow Mushroom pizza is ridiculous. May as well compare Thai food to Japanese. They're both delicious! But not remotely comparable.

We in "food and bev" appreciate feedback, even negative in nature. We aren't perfect, and we know it. Keep the comments coming!

Cheers!
A humble member of the Charleston "food and bev" community.

2 of 2 people like this.
Posted by Whateverzzzz on December 20, 2011 at 1:35 AM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

Clearly whomever is giving this place high ratings must be the owner or an employee. This place is terrible. Frankly the very worst service, food and management I have ever experienced. Your order will take forever to come out and when it does, don't expect it to be correct. I wish I had read reviews before going to Carolina Crust because I would have saved myself a lot of time and aggravation. Also, the owner will not hesitate to yell and cuss at customers- she was yelling at people at a table when we were in there. And she said negative things about Hanahan which I thought was very rude and offensive. We weren't even the objects of her rage but I would never ever go back to this place.

3 of 4 people like this.
Posted by mandim on December 2, 2011 at 9:22 AM

Re: “Carolina Crust Gourmet Pizza

This was the worst eating establishment I have ever experienced in the Charleston, SC area. The owner/management was the most unprofessional and rudest person I have ever come into contact with. Our office went to lunch to celebrate a birthday and she made it a horrible day for all of us. We waited almost 2 hours to be served and half of our party still did not receive their orders before we left, other orders were wrong, and the food was not all that great. She refused to cancel their orders and took her time giving the rest of us our checks so that we could return to work. After some very rude and belligerent comments, which included cuss words, from the owner/management, we paid our tabs and left without having to call the police to help us out. I would not recommend this place to anyone that wants a positive experience. The owner is a horrible young lady who has a very bad attitude!!

6 of 7 people like this.
Posted by reader45 on December 1, 2011 at 4:09 PM

Re: “EVO

Well, Rosemary, I'm glad you have an opinion. That is super. Unfortunately, you didn't really give EVO a chance because judging from your review, you came in with an idea of what you wanted and EVO didn't meet that standard. You already had your heart set on pizza, but you didn't want anything that was offered. Yes, EVO has a limited menu, but in my opinion, it better to do a few things well than be mediocre at a wider expanse. So for having a narrow mind, strike one. The beer menu is limited at EVO, but it offers many creative options instead of the Bud/Bud Light/Guiness/Bass combos I've seen so many other places. But you already had your budget set, and you wanted the brand of beer that you like and nothing else. Strike two. As for the service, judging from everything you wrote, it almost looks like you had already judged the place to suck. If you really couldn't find anything on the menu, why didn't you just leave? I have been to EVO a good 40 times over the past 2 years, with parties ranging from 2 to 14, and not once have I ever been disappointed in the service. Foul tip into the mitt, strike 3.

Seriously, NY pizza joints are a dime a dozen. I've never had Baroni's, and I'm sure they do a damn fine NY pizza. But if you don't like the place, don't come back, or bitch about what they don't have expecting them to cater to you. It's not going to happen. Enjoy Baroni's, all that means is more seats open for myself, my family and my friends at EVO.

19 of 22 people like this.
Posted by Muskie on November 24, 2011 at 6:35 PM

Re: “EVO

Saturday night after some debate we decided we still wanted pizza but wanted to try something new. We picked EVO due to CCP's reviews.

Point of fact I would like to make first, I never order pizza from chain stores. They are overpriced, over sauced and the pizza is usually lousy.

We were probably the oldest couple in the place being in our (very) late 40's, as we looked over the menu I could not tell if we were in a pizza place or not. I couldn’t find most of our favorite toppings on the menu but the one I did find was $3! Strike one.

After looking at the beer prices I felt it necessary to ask the server if the price was reflecting any sort of stock option in the brewing company.

There wasn't any sort of normal beer to choose from. They had what seemed like dozens of craft beers. I have had these beers before, I did like “Theobroma” from Dogfish but it isn't easy to find anymore. There are certain foods that I demand a decent beer for such as, cheeseburgers, fish & chips and PIZZA. I will drink Guinness with any food on the planet but I was told they didn’t have that on tap or in a bottle. Strike two. (Thank goodness we were not far away from Madra Rua Pub.)

After looking the menu over for 10 minutes or so and having the server come by every 2 minutes to get our order we decided to just order the Focaccia appetizer and two drinks. The server asked if we were ordering anything else and we declined because there wasn’t anything we wanted to eat on the menu, the server got snippy and disappeared. After 20 minutes we got our drinks and a plate of the Focaccia and oil. We needed more oil because the Focaccia was not stale but hard from being too close to the ovens maybe? (I would suggest a few shakes of a good Modena Balsamic Vinegar along with the oil for the Focaccia) Strike three.

I am not sure where the young people who were in there work, but they must be making more money than this engineer. I see no reason at all for the prices of the food and more importantly the beer.
After a few pints of Guinness down the street we picked up a pizza on our way home. Don't worry Mr Baroni, we will never be unfaithful to Baroni’s NY Pizza again!!

4 of 29 people like this.
Posted by Rosemary E Paul on November 23, 2011 at 4:28 PM

Re: “Mia Pomodori

Quaint restaurant. You will feel at home the moment you walk in the door. The pizza is wonderful, full of real Italian flavor. The sauce is divine and freshly prepared on site. This is a must have each time I visit the Charleston area.

Posted by Susan Ellis on November 16, 2011 at 10:52 AM

Re: “Pizza Roma Diner

This place was sooo good when there review came out in the city paper. A few months later they have droped the ball. The last 2 times we have went & got the burgandy phillys they have no cheese & NO BURGANDY MUSHROOMS? There deserts are good but the food is suffering. I know they have a huge turn over in employees so maybe they will get it fixed. Also the blonde who works there mostly at night is SUPER nice & helpful. I can get a better philly at Publix.

0 of 1 people like this.
Posted by SCrays on October 23, 2011 at 10:14 AM
Classified Listings

Powered by Foundation   © Copyright 2014, Charleston City Paper   RSS